Savanna CCA

Savanna CCA

Jack Parow, Riaad Moosa and Khanyi Mbau join the all-star cast for

The 4th Annual South African Savanna Comic’s Choice Awards®

 In partnership with The Times, Mzansi Magic and Kaya FM 95.9


For the first time in Savanna Comic’s Choice Awards®  (CCA) history, South Africa’s comedy-loving community will know ahead of the show who’ll be performing on the night.

Never before have the very protective and secretive creators of the awards given us a glimpse of what to expect – and we’re in for this year’s most incredible and hilarious night of comedy


Not only will six awards be handed out to SA’s top comedians, but prepare to be hit by a whirlwind of delight, surprise, hysterics and that kind of squirm-in-your-seat discomfort that only perfectly timed sharp comebacks can deliver.


Now in its fourth year, this year’s variety show is themed ‘The Point of Funny’ and promises to deliver the most laughs yet. Each skit will be delivered by the talented, and somewhat eclectic cast that includes well-known names like: Jack Parow, Rhys Woods, Nik Rabinowitz, Robby Collins, Chris Steenkamp, Pule, Debora Patta, Gilé Motshwane, Loyiso Gola, KG, Deep Fried Man, Tats Nkonzo, Bevan Cullinan and Riaad Moosa.


Barry Hilton, Khanyi Mbau and Darrel Bristow-Bovey (a man of many a funny word) are some of the presenters, with three more high profile names to be announced soon.

The event format is simple – none of this boring speech-giving nonsense you find at so many dull industry do’s.  There are only six recipients, so between the sidesplitting sketches performed by the cast members above, the coveted Waldo statuettes will be presented to the lucky nominee who got the most votes.  Each recipient does seven minutes of stand-up as their thank-you speech, which makes for an entertaining evening of off-the-cuff comedy and perfectly rehearsed theatre.


 “As we believe the CCA’s should shine a light into the future of comedy in SA, we push to find new ways to use The Teatro at Montecasino through technology and execution. Last year, we pushed the physical boundaries of the building, and augmented reality with graphics – this year, we are focused on the funniest possible night we can, with a few bells and whistles chucked in for fun.” Say co-directors, Dani Hynes and John Vlismas.


The Savanna CCA ceremony takes place at The Teatro at Montecasino on 2 August 2014.

Limited tickets are available to public, so book now through Computicket http://online.computicket.com/web/event/savanna_comics_choice_awards/821184509/0/60160433

The nominees, in case you missed them, are:

The Savanna Newcomer AwardAlfred Adriaan, Loyiso Madinga, Yaaseen Barnes, Glen Biderman-Pam, Bradford Keen


The Breakthrough Act Award: Donovan Goliath, Jason Goliath, Schalk Bezuidenhout, Deep Fried Man, Kagiso KG Mokgadi


The Comic’s Choice Comic Of The Year Award: Tumi Morake, Chester Missing, Loyiso Lungile Gola, Trevor Noah, Riaad Moosa


The Times Comic’s Pen Award: David Kibuuka, Chester Missing, Loyiso Lungile Gola, Kagiso Lediga, Christopher Steenkamp


Lifetime Achiever: Mark Banks (there are no nominees in this category, just the recipient).


The Savanna Audience Choice Award: This is the only category that’s open to public vote, so voting stays open until 28 July.  If you want to win a VIP experience to the awards bash, vote now by SMSing your favourite comedian’s unique code to 38374.


Mashabela Galane – Unique code – 1197

Sifiso Nene – Unique code – 1187

Elton Mduduzi Ntuli – Unique code – 1283

Thapelo TIPS Seemise – Unique code – 1150

Thabang E.R – Unique code – 1284


You can vote 20 times (if you can’t choose just one favourite!)


Of course, all the best events need the best media partners to support them, and the comedy industry thanks Mzansi Magic, The Times and Kaya FM 95.9 for helping to build comedy history.


Event Information:

Event Info: www.comicschoice.co.za

Email: info@comicschoice.co.za

Facebook: www.facebook.com/sa.comics.choice.awards

Twitter: @ComicsChoice: #SavannaCCA

Tickets: Computicket (www.computicket.co.za)


Issued on behalf of Whacked Management by One-eyed Jack. 




Email: Natasha@one-eyedjack.co.za |

Mobile: +79 056 8625


Content published by

DK Expressions®